Category Archives: Port Credit


Landmark Productions will celebrate the musical sounds of Ireland and Scotland at its new concert, Celtic Roots. The professional production will feature award-winning Mississauga duo River North (featuring singer/songwriters Matt Zaddy and Heather Christine) along with celebrated fiddler Brigit O’Regan and award-winning Irish Dancer Molly Collins.



The Mississauga Canoe Club’s Katie Vincent Paddles for C-1 500m Gold Saturday

PITESTI, ROMANIA (July 28, 2017) – After an “up and down” first day, Team Canada bounced back on Day 2 to qualify for six “A” finals at the ICF Junior and U23 Sprint World Championships.

Canadian paddlers posted great results in both canoe and kayak sprint events. One of the most inspiring performances came in the U23 Men’s K-4 500m race. After Marshall Hughes (Waverley, NS) was hospitalized due to illness, his replacement, Jarret Kenke (Saskatoon, SK) went down with the same ailment. Alexander Scott (Halifax, NS) filled the vacant spot and, along with teammates Maxence Beauchesne (Trois-Rivières, QC), Nicholas Matveev (Toronto, ON), and Pierre-Luc Poulin (Lac Beauport, QC) the K-4 crew beat a talented international field to win their semi-final and qualify for Sunday’s medal race.

“We were up and down yesterday, so it’s great to see us make a bunch of finals, including the Men’s K-4,” said Canoe Kayak Canada’s Chief Technical Officer, Graham Barton. “It suggests we’re already starting to see positive results out of a more centralized approach to our training program. Having several athletes training together this spring in Lac Beauport, Quebec, has really helped build our depth, and it paid dividends in the men’s K-4 when two of our guys got sick.”

Madeline Schmidt (Ottawa, ON) also gritted her way into A-finals appearance. She held onto third place in the first semi-final of the U23 Women’s K-1 500m by only a quarter of a second.

Other athletes who paddled their way to A-finals included: Nadya Crossman-Serb (Winnipeg, MB) and Hannah MacIntosh (Dartmouth, NS) in the U23 Women C-2 500m; Ailish McNulty (Dartmouth, NS) and Anna Negulic (Halifax, NS) in the U23 Women’s K-2 500m; Rowan Hardy-Kavanagh (Ottawa, ON) and Anne-Sophie Lavoie-Parent (Trois-Rivières, QC) in the U23 Women’s C-2 200m; and 15-year-old Sofia Jensen (Chelsea, QC), who qualified for her second final of the competition in the Junior Women’s C-1 200m.

Saturday’s action will see Jensen and Katie Vincent (Mississauga, ON) leading the charge as they contend for medals in the Junior and U23 Women’s C-1 500m races respectively. Canadian paddlers have also qualified for eight semi-finals on Saturday and will be looking to earn a spot in Sunday finals to compete for a medal.

The official draw can be found here, and you can watch live-streamed coverage of the events on Planet Canoe, the official YouTube channel of the ICF. Canoe Kayak Canada will issue daily highlights of Team Canada performances. Complete event results can be found here.

About Canoe Kayak Canada

Canoe Kayak Canada is the national governing body for competitive paddling in Canada, one of Canada’s top performing summer sports with a total of 24 Olympic medals, and a leader in the Paralympic movement. Canoe Kayak Canada is a member-based organization that includes an intricate network of clubs as well as provincial, territorial and divisional paddling associations. Elite National Team athletes proudly represent Canada at various competitions around the globe – most notably the Olympic Games, Paralympic Games, Pan American Games, ICF World Cups as well as Junior, Under 23 and Senior World Championships. Follow Canoe Kayak Canada on TwitterFacebookInstagram and YouTube.

2017 Mississauga Music Walk of Fame Class Announced

Four new members will be inducted into Mississauga’s Music Walk of Fame when the event hosts its first stand-alone induction ceremony Sunday July 23 at 3 p.m.

“The Walk of Fame celebrates Mississauga’s musical history and this year’s class once again proves how rich and deep that history is,” said Ward 1 Mississauga Councillor Jim Tovey, who chairs the selection committee.

Latin jazz star Fito Blanko, Bell Media President of Content and Broadcasting Randy Lennox, Canada’s “Sweetheart of Swing” Alex Pangman and five-time nominee and two-time Juno-winning singer Liberty Silver will be  honoured for their contributions to the music industry.  The ceremony will take place at the Walk of Fame site in Port Credit Memorial Park.

Panamanian-born Blanko’s recordings and videos are a mainstay in dance clubs and on Billboard Latin charts.

The 34-year-old John Cabot Secondary School graduate got his first big break after a music producer spotted him singing and rapping outside the city centre transit terminal at Square One at age 14.

Lennox is a 30-year veteran of the music industry who headed  Universal Music Canada before moving to Bell Media two years ago. A member of the Canadian Music Hall of Fame, he was presented the Walt Grealis Special Achievement Award for his contributions to Canadian music earlier this year at the Juno awards.

Pangman, who attended the Froebel School in Erindale Village, Erindale Secondary School and Erindale College (now UTM), first sang at age 14 at the Suisse Marmite restaurant in Port Credit. The 40-year-old Juno-nominated singer has a passion for the early vocal jazz of the 20s and 30s. She has more than half-dozen records to her credit, including a 78 rpm record she issued to showcase her favourite musical era.

City centre resident Liberty Silver burst onto the scene in the mid-80s and has been a mainstay of the industry ever since. She’s written Olympic theme songs, recorded in numerous genres, been a mainstay of jazz festivals and shared a Grammy award for her work.

She continues to record in her Mississauga home studio and runs a charitable foundation for music education based in Brampton.

A committee of citizens selects each year’s class to recognize Mississaugans who’ve significantly contributed locally or made their marks nationally or internationally.

Inductees for previous years:

2012: Ronnie Hawkins, Gil Moore, Oscar Peterson, Krisztina Szabo

2013: Eleanor Calbes, Charlie Camilleri, Rik Emmett, Chuck Jackson, Nancy Walker

2014: Joey Cee, Ron Harrison, Tommy Hunter, Billy Talent

2015: John Bride, Neill Dixon, Denny Doherty, Rob Wells

2016: Bobby Dean Blackburn, Steve DeMarchi, Jeff Healey, Cliff Hunt

For more information visit: