MAC Hands out MARTY Awards

The Mississauga Arts Council is pleased to announce the winners of the 2016 MARTY Awards. The awards were presented on Thursday May 19, at the Mississauga Convention Centre.

“Each year when we celebrate the MARTY Awards we recognize winning performances from all the major arts disciplines in Mississauga. This year we had 84 nominees in 19 categories, the ballrooms at Mississauga Convention Centre were sold out with their supporters and their lasting contributions will add to the cultural identity of our city,” said Mike Douglas, Interim Executive Director of the Mississauga Arts Council. “Congratulations to you and thank you for lifting our spirits with your winning efforts.”

This year’s award winners are:

Emerging Literary Arts – Peter Whelan
Established Literary Arts – Jasmine Sawant
Emerging Media Arts – Mathew Murray
Established Media Arts – Maggie Habieda
Emerging Music Arts – Anna Wojick
Established Music Arts – David O’Hearn
Emerging Theatre Arts – Sid Sawant
Established Theatre Arts – Sawitri Theatre
Emerging Visual Arts – Fatima Fasih
Established Visual Arts – Noelle Hamlyn
Emerging Dance Arts – Joann Wanda Rossitter
Established Dance Arts – Ashmina Suri
Culinary Arts – Massimo Capra
Fashion and Beauty – Tabi-G
Creative Community Award – Randy Persaud
Hazel McCallion Volunteer of the Year – Fatima Fasih
Laurie Pallet Patron of the Arts and Lifetime Achievement in the Arts – Ron Lenyk
People’s Choice Award – Harbir Singh

Leave a Reply