Seven Impressive Citizens to be Honoured at 5th Annual Legends Row Mississauga’s Walk of Fame Ceremony

On Saturday, November 4 at 1pm, in Erin Mills Town Centre’s Centre Court, seven worthy citizens will be inducted into the prestigious Legends Row Mississauga’s Walk of Fame.

Legends Row Mississauga’s Walk of Fame is a celebratory ceremony recognizing special residents who have made impressive contributions to the betterment of Mississauga, the country, and in some cases, the world. It is the highest honour a resident, or former resident can receive. Past honorees include: Oscar Peterson, Don Cherry, Johnny Bower and Tommy Hunter and NHL legend Paul Coffey.

In attendance to welcome the Class of 2017 will be several dignitaries, past inductees and many proud family members.

This year’s inductees are: Hazel McCallion, longest serving mayor in Mississauga who ushered unprecedented growth and prosperity to the city; George Stroumboulopoulos, respected television and radio broadcast veteran; Visionary Willson McTavish who spearheaded the creation of the Living Arts Centre and Mississauga Arts Council; three-time Olympian John Wood (posthumously); community leader Dr. Ruth Hussey (posthumously); prolific Canadian science fiction author, Robert J. Sawyer; and community leader Gary Clipperton.

Legends Row Mississauga’s Walk of Fame inductees will have a descriptive plaque of their accomplishments on a six foot high, four-sided vertical unit called a ”Totem”, located in Celebration Square in the heart of Mississauga’s downtown.


Hazel McCallion is the longest-serving mayor in the city’s history, having served for 36 years at the time of her retirement in 2014. Her supporters gave her the nickname “Hurricane Hazel” because of her outspoken political style. McCallion guided the new City of Mississauga through an unprecedented period of growth and prosperity.

George Stroumboulopoulos is a broadcast veteran in television and radio, He has earned a reputation for being authentic and relatable and is one of the most trusted and respected broadcasters in Canada. Malton born, George is also a passionate advocate of many social and environmental issues worldwide and has been an active supporter of numerous causes throughout his career.

Dr. Ruth Hussey (1915-1984) was the driving force behind the 14-year long, public campaign that eventually resulted in the acquisition of most of Rattray Marsh in the mid-1970s and saved it from being developed.

Gary Clipperton founded and directed the Streetsville based charity choral group JUSTUS which performed throughout Mississauga, Canada and abroad for 40 years. He spent his life serving his community as founding director of the Bread ‘n Honey Festival, as well as helping create the Meadowvale Theatre among many other endeavours.

Robert J. Sawyer is one of Canada’s most prolific authors and has been called the dean of Canadian science fiction. He is one of only eight writers in history (and the only Canadian) to win all three of the science-fiction field’s top honours for best novel of the year.

John Wood (1950-2013) A three-time Olympian, John was the first Canadian to win an Olympic medal on Canadian soil and the first Mississaugan to win an Olympic medal, all in an era rampant with East Bloc doping. Training out of the Mississauga Canoe Club, he is credited with inspiring other athletes and kickstarting Canada’s run of success in the sport of canoe/kayak.

Willson McTavish Among his many contributions to the Arts in Mississauga, Willson was the Founding Chair of the Mississauga Arts Council, President of the Mississauga Symphony and the visionary who spearheaded the creation and development of the Living Arts Centre, spending five years of research and writing reports for City Council in order to get this important community project off the ground.

For more public information, please call 905-569-1981 or visit or Guest Services.

Leave a Reply