Canada’s Leahy Is Back With Their New Album “Good Water”

“Good Water” and the single “Tears” both drop everywhere on February 26

JUNO Award-winning, Canadian progressive folk-roots group LEAHY is set to release the new single “Tears” from their upcoming album GOOD WATER. “Tears” is the third single from the album and both will be available on all major platforms Friday, February 26th.

Produced and mixed by Grammy Award-winning (and fellow Canadian) David Bottrill (Peter Gabriel, Afro Celt Sound System), the band feels that Good Water is their most ambitious recording project to date. With stunning lead vocals, sibling harmonies throughout, and lush, polished production, it would be hard to disagree. 

Good Water from LEAHY

Among the many gems, “Tears,” stands out on Good Water as an epic, melodic pop song that wouldn’t sound out of place on a Celine Dion album – but with rockin’ electric guitar by Nick Johnston – that invites the release of the kind of emotions that can “mend what’s broken, melt what’s frozen.” 

“I would like people to take away the gift of tears. We most often associate tears with sorrow, suffering or pain, but there are equally powerful tears of joy, love, healing, and freedom. The list goes on. It’s also interesting to me that from our suffering often comes something good – understanding, empathy, awareness, forgiveness. This list, too, goes on. These tears are also a gift. Lastly, the gift of physically expressing or ‘getting out’ our emotion. I think we too often hold things in.”

Denise (Lead Vocals)

Leahy’s emergence on the Canadian music scene in the late 1990’s with their chart-topping instrumental single “Call to Dance”, introduced audiences to a new way of accessing a uniquely Canadian music genre. The Leahy approach to traditional music – a combination of stride piano, driving rhythm guitar, propulsive drumming and  a distinctive bass guitar style – a wholly original sound – was the foundation from which fiddle-led instrumentals were launched to mainstream music listeners. A timely performance at the JUNO Awards led to being offered the opening act slot for Shania Twain on her record-breaking Come On Over tour. This amazing opportunity put their powerful performance in front of millions of music fans throughout North America and the UK.


  • Denise – lead vocals
  • Erin – piano, fiddle, vocals
  • Maria – acoustic guitar, mandolin, vocals
  • Julie Frances – piano, keyboards, vocals
  • Siobheann – bass guitar, fiddle, vocals
  • Frank – drums, fiddle
  • Xavier – accordion, electric and acoustic guitar, fiddle

Leave a Reply