Category Archives: Credit Valley Conservation

Credit Valley Conservation appoints 2020 Chair and Vice-Chair

Mississauga Councillor Karen Ras was acclaimed as chair of Credit Valley Conservation (CVC) at the inaugural 2020 board meeting on Friday, January 17, 2020. The election marks Ras’s second term as chair and her sixth year of service on the CVC Board of Directors. 

“I’m honoured to be acclaimed as chair of Credit Valley Conservation,” said Councillor Ras. “These are important times for Ontario conservation authorities. We have a new Conservation Authorities Act with pending regulations. We’re continuing to support municipalities and neighbours with services like flood warning and greening communities to mitigate and adapt to climate change. “We’re proud to work with our partners in government and across the watershed to lead protection, restoration and enhancement of our local natural environment.”

The CVC Board of Directors also acclaimed Town of Oakville Councillor Tom Adams as vice-chair. Adams has served on the CVC board since 2011 and previously served as vice-chair in 2013 and 2019.

The CVC board consists of 12 members from watershed municipalities, all of whom were also reappointed to the Credit Valley Source Protection Authority:

·         Karen Ras, Ward 2, City of Mississauga and Region of Peel Councillor

·         Tom Adams, Ward 6, Town of Oakville and Region of Halton Councillor

·         Martin Medeiros, Wards 2 and 6, City of Brampton and Region of Peel Councillor

·         Michael Palleschi, Wards 3 and 4, City of Brampton and Region of Peel Councillor

·         Ron Starr, Ward 6, City of Mississauga and Region of Peel Councillor

·         Stephen Dasko, Ward 1, City of Mississauga and Region of Peel Councillor

·         Matt Mahoney, Ward 8, City of Mississauga and Region of Peel Councillor

·         Johanna Downey, Ward 2, Town of Caledon and Region of Peel Councillor

·         Ann Lawlor, Ward 4 Councillor, Town of Halton Hills

·         John Brennan, Councillor, Town of Erin

·         Grant Peters, Councillor, Town of Orangeville

·         Tom Nevills, Councillor, Township of East Garafraxa

CVC is accountable through its Board of Directors to the municipalities and residents in the Credit River Watershed. The board approves and guides CVC policies, programs, services and sets its annual budget.

Flood Watch Issued by Credit Valley Conservation

The Surface Water Monitoring Center of the Ministry of Natural Resources and Forestry advises that an intense low-pressure system will reach Southern Ontario Friday night. Rain and freezing rain totals ranging from 40 to 65mm is expected Saturday and Sunday. 

Heavy precipitation, melting of snow and frozen ground conditions could generate high runoff along all watercourses in the area. Flooding may occur along the Credit River, its tributaries and tributaries draining directly to Lake Ontario. 

Strong winds could gust over 100 km/hour on Sunday morning as the low-pressure system moving through and out of Southern Ontario. Depending on wind and wave direction, flooding and erosion may occur along the shorelines of Lake Ontario. 

As a result, local streams, rivers, and shorelines could become dangerous, especially in the vicinity of culverts, bridges and dams. The public should be warned to stay away from all watercourses, especially children and pets. 

CVC will continue to closely monitor weather and water levels in the watershed. This Flood Watch will be updated by 2pm on Tue-Jan-14-2020.

To view current watershed conditions, visit our real-time monitoring website: